Officially opened on October 27th, 1913, The Majestic was built by W.S. and R.A. McKee on what was then the corner of Midway and Maple streets. The original Majestic Theater was under the general management of Spielman & Flagel, who also managed picture houses in Muscatine, Washington, Fairfield, Trenton, and Ft. Madison, Iowa. Price of admission to see a “moving picture” was 10 cents. The top floor was used as a meeting place for the Moose lodge.

The Majestic Theater

Nearly a century later, The Majestic has been completely renovated. All of the work done on the interior and exterior was guided by photographs from historical archives and personal collections. Moldings were rebuilt, acoustic material applied to all walls and historic paint colors used throughout and restored. Now housing a grand ballroom (the same one originally used by the Moose lodge), a lounge area with a full bar, as well as the original theater, The Majestic has truly transformed into a multi-purpose facility for the Centerville Community. State-of-the-art lighting, projection, and sound systems have been installed in the theater, and the lounge area features new leather lounge furniture.

The Majestic Theater

Come experience a piece of Centerville history, and the beginning of a new chapter for The Majestic Theater.

Comments are closed.